Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Right on Time

on February 29, 2012

I’m always thinking about what could have been, might have been, would have been….it consumes my thoughts before bed and when I first wake up. I have tried to quell these thoughts  but it’s nearly impossible.

Had I only done X then Y would have been different. Case in point – had I actually stuck with Weight Watchers when I first joined (2004) I could be years into a healthier life instead of still struggling with weight loss.

Alas – these thoughts lead me down a dangerous rabbit hole …. until I see things like this:

One of my favorite sayings has always been ‘Everything happens for a reason‘ ~  but I feel like sometimes you use it as a cop-out to avoid your true feelings. Am I disappointed I didn’t get my act together sooner? Of course! Am I happy it led to this blog and bloggy friends? Of course! Had I not met said bloggy friends (Jess and Jo!) I wouldn’t have found barre n9ne and fallen in love with the barre method. It is legit my favorite form of exercise EVER. I sweat… a lot,  I’m never bored, I feel strong, but not exhausted beyond belief. It’s amazing.

So next time you’re thinking “If only X then Y” – consider the quote above!

You are exactly where you’re supposed to be at this moment in time.

Another favorite quote worth re-posting:

 

4 responses to “Right on Time

  1. Sandy says:

    This is so so so hard for me too. Sometimes when I’m falling asleep, I fantasize that I’ll wake up at age 13, when I was only 150 lbs., and just get ACTIVE (and not just in the fitness-y way). Like, relive my life knowing what I know now. Drink when I was in high school (who the hell is like, I wish I’d gotten drunk in high school?). Get out. Live. I, too, try to remember these quotes.

    • Ahhh I have the same thoughts. But, I would go back to being 8. I had pneumonia really bad and once I recovered I was back to a healthy weight range. I would coach my 8 year old self on the benefits of carrot sticks and celery over Twix bars and I would continue dancing a few times a week. Just think how different my life would be now!!

  2. jobo says:

    yes!!! You ARE exactly where you are meant to be! I love this message and this post. And I am SO glad we have met and you love class as much as we do!!! It is truly amazing!

Leave a Reply

