Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Unexpected Changes to my MO

on April 3, 2012

So remember I was talking about March Madness? Well March has nothing on April! Last Tues/Weds/Thurs we had this awesome (and intense!) training at work. I got to connect with folks from all around the globe who I only know by name/email. So cool! I never realized how this whole lifestyle change (prompted by Lent) would change other aspects of my life.

I’ve never been a big “schedule” / “routine” person. Oh sure, my Outlook calendar at work is booked months in advance – but that’s WORK.  🙂  I never had routines in my personal life or schedules I needed to stick to. Then I found barre n9ne….and suddenly I was planning my weeks around class (barre method is my current fav). A little shift in focus, but nothing earth-shattering. Then I went to this work training and my food routine was thrown off (catered lunches, lots of temptations). Then I went from said class straight to Tampa for a work gig. All hell broke loose. Suddenly I had no barre n9ne to look forward to, and no juicer/smoothies and no pre-made healthy lunches. I nearly came unglued.

No word of a lie, I feel like a different person. I like routine. I like Monday/Thursday/Saturday barre method. I like smoothies/juices for breakfast. I like knowing I have a healthy lunch waiting for my in the fridge at work. I like planning when to get cardio.

Who am I?!?! :0)

Oh, I forgot the craziest part of all – I’m becoming a morning person!! I feel better when I get up at the same time every day (7am usually). I feel better when I let myself get adequate rest and ya’ll I am EXHAUSTED after a method class. I sleep like a rock!

I have no idea how all these changes snuck in under my nose….but I like it. I like that I am truly embracing a new way of thinking.

My friend Sandy posted this to the books of faces and it made me laugh….but it also hit home. I can’t tell you how many times I did this and then whined that I wasn’t losing weight!

 

< insert ballad of me singing “Ch-ch-ch-changes…..(turn and face the strain)” >

 

5 responses to “Unexpected Changes to my MO

  1. Jess Sutera says:

    I LOVE this new outlook on routine you have. This is your “new normal” – doesn’t it feel wonderful and glorious and energizing and YOU?? 🙂

  2. jobo says:

    A MORNING person?! I LOVE IT! You are so energized and that’s the best part 🙂

  3. I’ve noticed how I’ve transformed myself in more than one way. I always thought I was just going to lose weight. I never realized how much I’d gain and how changing one thing would change everything. It’s a continual learning process and as I evolve, I like who I’m becoming!

  4. Didn’t mean to hit post… Glad to see such positive things happening to you, because of you! Keep up the tremendous work.

Leave a Reply

