Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Celebrating The End of Lent….

on April 9, 2012

Easter Sunday was sadly not spent in the company of my fam – but in LA cruising the city alone. It was interesting for me to spend the bulk of my day alone – being such a social person! I decided to take myself out to lunch (more on that in a bit). When cruising for restaurants I realized how many healthy options are available. It’s insane! Every city needs to adopt this mentality! (Hello Tampa, looking at you).

My hotel (super swanky and yet only $160 a night! Score.) has an amazing restaurant in it (Blvd 16) with insanely healthy choices:

How much do you love that the nutritional  value is right there in the open! Awesome. Last night I had the chicken with lemony dressing and it was killer delish.

I’m really doing my best to embrace my lifestyle changes while away. Healthy snacks in my bag, water bottle always in my backpack and making the best choices possible. Am I perfect? God no. But, am I choosing grilled over fried? Yes. Am I drinking water instead of martinis? Yes (though a nice glass of white wine has hit the spot a few times!).

So, while cruising for lunch spots I happened upon Father’s Office in Santa Monica. I’ve been to the Culver City locale, but not this one. The parking gods smiled on me and I scored an excellent space. I sat at the bar (which I never, ever do) and struck up conversation with 2 people also sitting alone. Turns out both were from Boston and one was about to move back! Small world man! 🙂

Oh and can we point out that Lent is officially OVER? 44 days of dessert free-ness ended on Easter Sunday at 12:30am (EST….sue me). How did I celebrate?

crème brûlée (duuuuuuhhhhhh!)

I think the stars aligned when I had to spend Easter in LA at my favorite hotel with my most favorite dessert ever (and it’s seasonal – this month tangerine!). Delicious. Amazing. Decadent. And guess what? I couldn’t finish it. I left a bite and a half (but not the burnt sugar – that’s my favorite part). I embraced Tanya’s words of wisdom – if you want something, make it the BEST something. Don’t half-ass it. Don’t eat something you don’t REALLY want. Make it the best. So, in celebration of Lent I had THE BEST crème brûlée (with fruit!). So glad I waited to celebrate!

One of my favorite bloggers recently posted about this. In Kate’s words, creme brulee is something I love so much I could have it Always, but instead I will make it a Sometimes Food. Sometimes when I have been good (exercised and water) and really want a treat (versus just when someplace HAS treats) I will indulge.

I also need to give a shout-out to “My Fitness Pal“, I’ve tried tracking my calories in 52 places and this one is the best- love it. 🙂 The Android app even has a bar-code scanner so you can scan what you’re eating (and so far every obscure-ass thing I buy has been in tracker. Impressive!).

Part of me didn’t think I could make it 44 days without desserts. Now that I have (and kicked my coffee habit to boot!) I feel more in control of my cravings. I don’t need dessert every night. I might still WANT it most nights but ya know what? I want strong muscles and slimmer physique more! I feel like I’ve had so many little revelations lately….it’s crazy!

4 responses to “Celebrating The End of Lent….

  1. Jess Sutera says:

    I LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS POST. EVERYTHING!! <–this is my shouting from the rooftops, hehe

    Seriously — you've hit your "golden hour" – this is your TIME to shine and shine big. You are making lifelong changes to your life that will pay off in spades, long-term. Seriously — I am so, so, so happy for you!!! Just like you said, this is a lifestyle, not a diet, not something with fits and starts. It's forever.

    PS. SO with you on not half-assing it!! If I want something super delicious for dessert, I don't half ass it. I make room for it in my log and I enjoy every single last little morsel. It usually comes in the form of a freshly baked, homemade chocolate chip cookie. Those are my weakness. I heart them so. (although this creme brulee looks freakin' amazing I have to say, YUM!)

  2. jobo says:

    I love this post so much!!! And I love that mantra – sometimes foods. So true. You are choosing so wisely and I love that the restaurant you chose had the cals listed for everything! How ideal!! Now I want creme brulee. Never had it until a year or so ago and I almost wish I never did. It is so damn good! 😉

  3. So awesome! I remember when I gave up dessert for Lent, I learned the same thing. Dessert is nice but not necessary, which is not what I used to think. It’s always great to learn something new and add it to the new lifestyle. I, like you, love the fact that California restaurants contain nutritional information. It makes eating and making the right choice go hand in hand. No excuses! Happy after Lent and here’s to the new you!

  4. Julie says:

    I’m late reading and responding – but this was such a great post!! (aside from the dodgy nutrition counts with 0g of protein for a meal with chicken of course – but that wasn’t coming from you!) You have come so far and have learned so much about yourself – it’s inspiring!

Leave a Reply

