Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Then and Now Comparisons

on April 13, 2012

I recently had a discussion with a new friend about my “weight loss journey” (man, what a long, strange trip it’s been). Telling her how I got started I was shocked at the then and now comparisons….

I started taking my weight loss seriously two and a half years ago. I realized I wasn’t getting any younger, this wasn’t getting any easier and I needed to get my shit together ASAP.

I ate Lean Cuisines. I tried to avoid chips. I drank 2-3 medium iced mocha coffees with cream and sugar from Dunks a day (340 calories each for the record).  I switched to diet soda. I ate vegetables with butter and cheese on them. I went to the gym. I tried a personal trainer. I joined WW again….and again….and again. I lost weight. I celebrated with cupcakes. Or chocolate. Always milk. I could eat a whole box of fancy candies. I could eat 3 Twix bars without batting an eyelash. I didn’t love myself. I didn’t even LIKE myself some days…but I kept on pushing. I knew the choices I was making weren’t the best- but they were better than doing nothing.

Today I am by no means perfect, but I feel like I am light-years from the person I used to be. While in LA I walked a minimum of 11,000 steps every single day. I drank a ton of water. I didn’t have coffee once. I did have alcohol – but in moderation. I chose wine and savored the glass. I ate raw vegetables with a Greek yogurt sauce. RAW! I will never forget the first time I ate raw broccoli – it was at a birthday party when I was 23 or 24. I spit it into my napkin. I was grossed out the front door. Now? I liked the crunch! I liked tasting the flavor of broccoli. Truthfully I still prefer I roasted, but that’s OK! My taste buds are changing…and I like it!

I get to have desserts again now that Lent is over. Did I go balls to the ball and head face first into a chocolate buffet? Nope. I had a crème brulee (previously mentioned) then the next night I shared a few bites of tiramisu with a friend. Oh and I brought my family home amazing, hand-crafted dark chocolate truffles from Compartes. I am so in love with their candy, it’s unreal. But ya know what? I can only eat a few. So I made sure to pick out flavors I could savor for the next few weeks (salted caramel, European marzipan, browned butter and passion fruit – in case you were curious!). I am still having a treat, but I’m not going overboard.

Compartes!

I feel SO in control of my life!

I track my calories, I plan my workouts, I forgive myself when I slip up, I strive to get my steps in every day.  I like seeing my little water ticker in MFP fill up the glass. I’m a nerd! But, I like it. I feel like the crutches I had in place a few years ago aren’t needed any longer. I wouldn’t be caught dead eating a Lean Cuisine now! I can’t tell you the last time I ate a Twix bar. I’m a changed woman.

My beloved barre studio is opening a second location in Andover. I have convinced some girlfriends to try classes with me so my schedule next week looks like this:

How insanely awesome is that?? Looking forward to introducing friends to my barre obsession (including my mom).

This weekend will be spent relaxing and recuperating from my whirlwind travel. I’m looking forward to sleeping, reconnecting and doing some spring shopping. What’s on your weekend agenda?

 

 

3 responses to “Then and Now Comparisons

  1. jobo says:

    I LOVE this! (I know I say that all the time…) But isn’t the difference between now and then amazing? In every possible way? You are coming along so far and are doing so so well. I never stop being impressed. And I cannot wait to see you in class twice next week!!!!

  2. Jess Sutera says:

    Ahhhh LOVE!! You are so much happier and in control of your life and following your path in such incredible ways — and I’ve even seen so much change in you (physically and mentally) in the short time I’ve known you…can’t imagine the difference between now and just a few years ago. Night and day. Completely. You rock sista, seriously (can’t wiat to see you in class tonight!!)

  3. Carolyn says:

    just found your blog. LOVing it.

Leave a Reply

