Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Sunday Stars (and pictures!)

on April 16, 2012

Sunday night musings – list style? Sure why not.

*I’m obsessed with shows about transformation. Biggest Loser, America’s Next Top Model (I know it’s trashy fabulous, but I can’t stop watching….even when Tyra gets all cray cray and dresses like a super hero), The Voice. I love watching someone change from week to week. Progress inspires me.

*I got my ass (and abs) killed barre n9ne style by my pal Jess from EatDrinkBreathSweat on Friday. My abs STILL hurt. No lie! Thanks Lady! 😉

*I want this shirt now (first seen on Jess!):

*I have 2 chances to get the same ab/ass-kicking Tuesday and Friday morning with Jess’ triplet, Jolene from Determined. She better BRING IT! (as if!). 😉

*I think I have a barre obsession. My phone (Android) finally accepted it as a word. My friends (even my guy friends) know what it is….haha!

*I’m obsessed with this quote:

I used to be so afraid to embrace new things….I wanted the life I had but I wanted an upgrade. Now I realized if I want new things, I need to let go of old things. It’s the whole season/reason/lifetime thing.

(read the whole quote/poem here)

Once upon a time I thought everyone in my life was here for a lifetime. When things ended I was devastated. Now I can see the benefits to only having someone in your life for a season. I love sandals, but not all year-long. I love passion iced tea lemonade, but I don’t want to drink it everyday. People and “phases” are the same way. I’ve lost more than just pounds, and gained more than just health.

*In my hotel in LA I took this picture – it might be favorite one to date.

I carry this picture (from 2009) on my phone to remind me of where I’ve been. Sometimes it motivates me, sometimes it makes me sad. Either way, I think reflection is healthy.

Sept 2009 w/ my lovely friend Lily

Looking back I don’t know who I was then.

Seeing that picture reminded me of the quote currently on my desktop:

Such a true sentiment huh?

Speaking of – let me end this post with my favorite read in the world right now (“It’s not going to turn out the way you thought…..”). Do yourself a favor, read it. Fall in love with Kris Carr.

You won’t do it at the right time.

You’ll be late.

You’ll be early.

You’ll get re-routed.

You’ll get delayed.

You’ll change your mind.

You’ll change your heart.

It’s not going to turn out the way you thought it would.

It will be better.

Happy week friends. I hope you’re feeding your soul (and enjoying the amazing kickass New England spring weather!).

XO

8 responses to “Sunday Stars (and pictures!)

  1. You’re beautiful!! Beyond the obvious weight-loss, I see a new confidence in your eyes. Love it! Keep it up!

  2. ((I hope you don’t get this comment three times … I’m having issues.))

    You’re beautiful!! Beyond the obvious weight-loss, there’s a new confidence in your eyes. I love it! Keep it up, girl.

  3. jobo says:

    aww! Love this! It is so happy and passionate and focused and motivated!! And I will surely love to kick your bum tomorrow and Friday! Bring it!! 🙂

  4. Jess Sutera says:

    heheheeeeee. I LOVE that your abs were hurting days later. Woohoo, I kicked your butt 🙂 You are so amazing, truly — this new confidence and strength and PASSION you have is so frickin’ cool.

  5. Carolyn says:

    looooooove the “don’t look back, you’re not going that way” quote. preach it girl!

Leave a Reply

