Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Celebrating Non-Scale Victories

on May 23, 2012

I used to focus a lot on “NSV” or Non-Scale Victories. I feel like I haven’t blogged about them in a while.  Lately I’ve kind of abandoned the scale all together (except for bi-monthly weigh-ins) in favor of measurements and “The Jeans Test”. I started my love affair with barre n9ne last summer via virtual classes, but I didn’t commit to in-person classes until March 1st. Here I am 12 weeks later and I’ve lost 29.5 inches overall. That’s over 2 feet! Holy mackerel. At this rate I will be like 11 feet less Samantha once I’m done. LOL!

Lately things seem different. I feel stronger ~ and closer to the people in my life who I love. I’ve been making fitness dates a priority with friends (shout-outs to Stasia and Christine!). I’ve made new fitness friends (shout-outs to Amanda and Lindsay!) I’ve had gym sibling time with my bro ~ and we’ve made it a habit to take trips to Whole Foods for snacks. What’s more delicious then fruit cups, plantain chips and home-made peanut butter?! Nothing. 🙂

I bought a FitBit. Super excited to use it. I have no idea what I’m doing yet….but if you have one and want to friend me my handle is sheissparkling. 🙂  (Sidenote: I think it’s full of shit. It claims I burned 867 calories in class. That seems high! Whatever, I’m mostly interested in steps).

So besides inches lost, new toys and strengthened bonds with those I love what else am I celebrating?

New clothes in smaller sizes!! This weekend I decided I needed some summer clothes. I went to the dreaded fat shop (LB) and low and behold…they had cute clothes! Holy shit. Miracles happen everyday. 😉

I bought not one but TWO dresses…..both in a size 22. I have no idea if your dress size is usually smaller than your pants size (currently in between a 24 and 26 in dress pant and jeans) – but buying 2 items in a size 22 made my heart soar. Not to mention – hi, DRESSES? Yes. Dresses. I haven’t worn a dress since……2004? Probably. Before that it was prom. I never liked dresses. Now, I just might be coming around to them!

DKNY Tie-Dyed Maxi Dress. LOVE!

and

Strapless maxi dress w/ funky bottom!

Pretty huh? I’m excited to accessorize them ~ and rock them at work/parties/dinners this summer.

My last NSV to share today is on finding yourself – and redefining who you are. I feel like you know what your career is, you know what your sign is and you know what your favorite things are – but those don’t define you necessarily. They describe you. Lately I feel in tune with myself. I “get” me. I feel like I realize what I want in a relationship, in a future, in a life. Everything seems really crystal clear. I think this mental clarity has come from opening up to people about how I’m feeling (be it my mom, Jewels, etc) – being honest with what I’m afraid of and knowing that while I don’t have all the answers – I don’t need them either. People are in my place in my life right now to help mold and shape me for my future. I might not see it at the time – but everything has been set in motion to help me succeed. It’s pretty awesome when you step back and think about it!

“Later that day I got to thinking about relationships. There are those that open you up to something new and exotic, those that are old and familiar, those that bring up lots of questions, those that bring you somewhere unexpected, those that bring you far from where you started, and those that bring you back. But the most exciting, challenging and significant relationship of all is the one you have with yourself. And if you can find someone to love the you you love, well, that’s just fabulous.” – Carrie Bradshaw, Sex and the City

One of my all-time favorite quotes. :0)

6 responses to “Celebrating Non-Scale Victories

  1. I celebrate a NSV every week in my WLJ post. I think it’s important to remember that it’s not all about the scale 🙂

    I also have a fitbit. I love it. It motivates me to try and get at least 10K steps in everyday … even on the days I don’t work out. Especially on those days.

  2. jobo says:

    I LOVE NSV!! What a great idea, and those dresses are AWESOME! You will look gorgeous in them! I request pictures when you wear them 😉 And 29.5 inches? is INSANE!!! you are ROCKING it in every way, and I love that you also GET you more than you have in the past. I think it’s so important. Really helps you break through doesn’t it?

  3. Jess Sutera says:

    YES!! NSV are HUGE!! FIRM FIRM believer in them over the scale any day of the week. 29.5 inches is freakin’ incredible. I am so excited for you as you continue your journey — especially such a fun journey that involves b9 and fit dates with fab friends 🙂

  4. So happy I made the blog!!! ❤

  5. Yayy! I’m so looking forward to going hiking in July, I know we won’t get lost in the woods because you will be sparkling in some way I’m sure. And those dresses are so pretty!!

  6. debc says:

    NSVs are the best part about the journey, I think. Those little surprises like buying a dress in a new size or fitting into a favorite shirt you haven’t worn in a while. The scale can be cruel sometimes, but the NSV tell a better story.

Leave a Reply

