Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Self-Reflection Sunday (moved to Monday….)

on May 29, 2012

Happy Summer!

Hope everyone had a kickass long weekend. I certainly did. Grilling, sunshine, sleeping late, family time, friends and 5 barre classes in 4 days! BAM. 🙂

So I wanted to make “Self-Reflection Sunday” a feature here in the little piece of the interwebz…but it was a long weekend and this is the first time I’ve booted my laptop since Friday. I think I needed the break. I love my job, but sometimes it’s all-consuming. I’m on my Blackberry until midnight, I’m responding to emails until wee hours of the morning. I needed to disconnect and reclaim my life and my free time. I’m happy to say this weekend I did that!(Sidenote: my boss always yells at me for working as much as I do – this is self-imposed not work-imposed obsession, LOL).

I also took time to clean out my iPod, added more motivational songs for the gym and got rid of those songs that reminds me of people I don’t know anymore. It’s funny how places, smells, songs etc. have associations (more on my crazy food associations later). Then I sat here recapping my weekend in my had. Saturday I had a major meltdown concerning this body of mine. It sounds silly in hindsight, but I kept thinking about how great I’ve been doing with food ~ and how many things I’ve given up – why aren’t I a size 10 yet dammit!? Why don’t I have one body part that wants to cooperate with summer clothes?! (No capris, I have cankles – STILL, no sleeveless tops – bat wings, no dresses for a while until my stomach pooch flattens). Gah. I wish for every healthy meal you ate or kickass workout you endured one bad decision was erased from your past. Wouldn’t that be amazing?! Nerds friends, please work on this concept for me and see if you can invent a machine. I’ll be the beta tester. 🙂

Luckily I have a very rational and supportive support system (thanks this week to Mom, Derek and Stasia) I was talked off the ledge. Let’s be perfectly frank here –  I haven’t been kicking this much ass all along. I spent months half-assing it and making excuses. I can’t expect perfection overnight….I didn’t get fat overnight (though sometimes I swear to god it feels like it!). I don’t think I ever realized how big I was at my heaviest. It didn’t dawn on me that I was rotating out the same 6 outfits over and over. Now that I’m exploring the massive clothing collection I have I’m surprised to discover things I’ve never worn fit – score! Things from last year fit MUCH better this year – double score! I am making progress, it’s just not as fast as I want. I think some of it is my impatience and some of it is the “but I didn’t go to Bagel world and have a sesame toasted bagel with scallion cream cheese and a huge mocha iced coffee today – shouldn’t I have lost 5 pounds just for being awesome?” mentality. I feel better without that damn bagel, I know I do….I just wish I could have the bagel and the svelte body of my dreams!

Saturday I did a double with Jo – which killed for the record – and burned 1313 calories! I snapped a picture on my way out:

On Facebook my caption was “Goodbye 1313 calories, hello collar bones! Please, stay a while”. Looking at that picture I see progress. I see determination. I see strength. Sidenote: I need to take more full-length pictures for comparison later!

So, I’m over my hissy fit and moving forward. Dust yourself off and all that jazz. Time for some Sunday Self-Reflection questions!

What is the top priority in your life right now? 

It’s a tie – weight-loss/health and enjoying my life as much as possible. I’m trying to focus on little things that make my day (like seeing old fiends who “get me” or spending my calories wisely on a well-deserved treat). I’m having conversations about where I want to be with people (rather than keeping it to myself). I’m making lists of things to try (like a 5K or hiking or surfing) as I reach different milestones. I’m planning for a kickass future.
What are the biggest actions you can take now to create the biggest results in your life?

As much as it pains me to say it ~ just keep swimming. Oh and get some cardio in. LOL. I finally found my perfect exercise routine, perfect support system and perfect calorie allotment – now I just have to keep at it and trust myself. It’s nice to know I’m where I’m supposed to be, I just wish I had figured it out sooner! 🙂
How are you feeling today?

So glad I didn’t write this a few days ago…haha. Today I am awesome. I worked out, spent time with my Mom and Stasia, saw barre friends, spent some time alone and got ready for a lovely 3 day work-week before a weekend away. Yay! Ready for a little fun in the sun.

Quote of the week:

Cheers to a nice, short work week!

5 responses to “Self-Reflection Sunday (moved to Monday….)

  1. JessSutera says:

    I’m loving this self-reflection series of yours. When it comes right down to it — the work-in-progress thang is HARD and FRUSTRATING and not as instananeous as any of us would like. It sucks that there is just NO magic wand out there to whisk away the pounds, the inches, etc. and no magic wand that allows for those treats (omg bagel world…) without the sacrifices too. But here’s the thing? You’re finally at the point where you get that, you aren’t half-assing it, you’re going ALL THE WAY with this thing and the results are coming along at a really healthy and good clip — a clip that will help you keep the pounds off for good. No fad dieting, no yo-yo-ing, just the right lifestyle to make this a forever thing. You’re doing it my dear, you ARE, and even though there are going to be those moments of frustration that its not happening faster, it IS happening — and it just takes those little moments of looking back to sometimes remember just how far you’ve come already.

  2. jobo says:

    So glad you wrote this on Monday too and took time to reflect and just unwind a bit too. The work in progress period is hard, and of course you want to fast forward to the ‘after’, but I think your approach – more full length pictures, more focus on all that you ARE doing and the progress you ARE seeing is such a healthy approach, vs the stuff that maybe isn’t changing as quickly as you want. You killed it in class this weekend, I saw that look of determination and perhaps anger (at times hehe), and that’s the fire that will keep you going!!!

  3. Memie says:

    You are so motivational and spot on thanks for the great blogs

  4. Meg says:

    If it makes you feel any better, I’ve completely fallen off the wagon and really need to get with the program. I can make a ton of excuses as to why, but I’m not going to, I’m just going to start over and pick up where I left off. The good news is that since I’ve lost the weight I have just working out and eating right, it doesn’t come back on at the same rate it used to at least! Here’s to a work in progress and this being a forever thing!

  5. Sandy says:

    You know, I never ever thought running would be my cardio, the thing I loved. I hate it still, don’t get me wrong, but it’s equal parts love and hate. I’ve seen zero difference in myself cosmetically, but I can run much longer than I used to be able to, and girl, that is something. You’ve been a big inspiration.

Leave a Reply

