Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

TGIF …. (and a little pep talk to myself)

on June 8, 2012

Hello Friday ~ what a lovely surprise! Man it has been a LONG ASS WEEK!

I’ve been in a super funk. My workouts feel harder than usual – I feel weak. I had to take about 9 million breaks yesterday in Jo’s method. Ugh. My cardio has felt more strained. My food log is balanced but I find myself STARVING (or at least thinking I’m starving). I actually went to bed early last night because I knew if I stayed up I would have cheated and eaten more calories than I was allotted. I think everyone goes through this ~ it happens.

I saw this on Facebook and it made me smile:

 

Exactly!

I got this. Shit happens ~ but I can’t let it delay my ultimate goal: health! I didn’t start out on this journey to be a certain size (I’m still not sure where I’ll end up – it could be an 8 it could be a 14, who knows!). I did start this because I was sick and tired of lugging the same fat around and making the same excuses year after year. I want to change my life and keep that change. That’s not an easy thing ~ nor is it something to be taken lightly. I need to cut myself some slack. We all have shitty weeks.

So, on a positive note it is Friday. Yay! I am on pager for work, but even that couldn’t damper my good mood. I’m ready to get outside and enjoy some fresh air, get some errands done and see family and friends. Today my BFF Jewels is having shoulder surgery – she lives in NY and is slated to come back to MA for a few days. I’m hoping to come visit her Sunday. (fingers crossed she’s up for company!). So, I’m going to focus on getting my groove back, re-centering myself and appreciating the few days without my cubicle. 🙂

TGIF friends – enjoy it!!

5 responses to “TGIF …. (and a little pep talk to myself)

  1. Jess Sutera says:

    Excellent pep talk my dear. Sometimes it’s all you need to lift your spirits back up and remember why you’re in this fight to begin with. because guess what? You DO got this, and you WILL crush your goals and you ARE well on your way. 🙂

  2. Love the positive attitude because lady, you do got this!

  3. Memie says:

    I never looked at that way. Thanks for adding that. 🙂

  4. Keith says:

    Great job Sam, keep it up even through the slow times. Glad to hear the positive attitude!

  5. jobo says:

    Taking breaks is ok, just saying 😉 it should never be at a point where you don’t need breaks IMHO! BUT I know what you mean when it comes to a workout and feeling weak. I think that’s when your body is telling you to take a little break, reset, and come back strong. Hope the weekend helped and I LOVE that quote!!

Leave a Reply

