Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

“The Weight of a Nation” + Food for Thought

on June 18, 2012

My brother is a huge documentary fan. Usually he cons me into watching good ones and I end up liking it (though I whine it’s not as exciting as a drama). When he first heard about “The Weight of a Nation” on HBO I knew that was something I could get behind. It’s a 4 part mini-series documentary on the obesity epidemic in America. I’ve mentioned before that I have been since the age of 8 or 9. Growing up fat I was the minority – watching this documentary made me realize that it’s become the majority. Sad.

The 4 documentaries focused heavily on diabetes and the health issues that come along with extra weight. I’ve been fortunate not to have any health problems because of my obesity – but I think I’ve really just been lucky.

Did you know …

Sugar-sweetened beverages are the largest source of sugar in the diets of children and adolescents.<—- gross!!!

Childhood obesity has more than tripled in the past 30 years. (I mentioned this to a friend and he said XBOX and TV trump playing outside and sports. He’s right.)

The percentage of children aged 6–11 years in the United States who were obese increased from 7% in 1980 to nearly 20% in 2008. Similarly, the percentage of adolescents aged 12–19 years who were obese increased from 5% to 18% over the same period.

In 2008, more than one-third of children and adolescents were overweight or obese. <—– EEP!!!

How friggin  scary are those statistics?!?!

Check out the relationships between added cheese/fat/corn syrup in our diets and obesity. It’s straight up alarming. In 10 years we’ll be off the charts.

Think about the last time you went to the grocery store – every aisle cap has soda, chips, snacks, sugar-coated cereal….it’s insane how much new junk food we have! Every show I watch on TV is peppered with fast food commercials. Every movie has product placement. Junk is everywhere you turn. Literally!

I have always heard people say it’s expensive to eat healthy. No, no it’s not. Is it more of a hassle? Yes. Does it take more planning and preparation? Yes.  Will it benefit you in the long run? YES! I will be the first to admit, eating healthy is not “convenient” sometimes – especially with the busy lives we all live. That said, I will always choose real food over something processed, fake or deep-fried now that I’ve seen how good I feel without crap in my diet.

Check this out:

Both homemade meals look pretty tasty and fairly easy to make. Right? So why do 80% of Americans eat fast food at least once a day then??? Convenience maybe ~  certainly not price! 🙂

Think about the food your grandparents ate. Now think about the foods your parents ate. Now consider what you ate growing up. Yes we had fruits and vegetables ~ but we also had Dunkaroos, Gushers, and Hi-C. Those tasted better. My palette became accustomed to sickeningly sweet / overly salty / deep-fried. I didn’t know what real food tasted like – but I knew I didn’t like it.

I highly recommend the documentary for anyone who is interested in the epidemic facing our nation – but my one critique was they didn’t address how you the viewer at home can fix the problem. It’s more than just “don’t eat junk” and exercise. It’s being concerned about your family, your friends and your neighbors. Incorporate health into activities over food. Find healthy compromises for recipes you love. Go to the doctors and make sure you’re not already living with high-blood pressure, diabetes, heart disease etc. Be accountable for your self and others.

You are in charge of your own body. 🙂

5 responses to ““The Weight of a Nation” + Food for Thought

  1. Jess Sutera says:

    Um hi. AMEN AMEN AMEN. #thatisall

  2. Memie says:

    It is just amazing with over 60% of Americans being overweight we are still looked down upon as a minority.

  3. Nicolle says:

    Honestly, I want to slap someone (not that I actually do it) every time I hear that lazy argument that it’s cheaper to eat fast food than it is to eat healthy.

    I also feel that letting some company do the cooking takes all the fun out of eating. Personally, I really enjoy cooking, it’s kind of therapeutic for me.

  4. Sandy says:

    Well, to be fair, for a lot of low-income people, it’s not a matter of convenience or even cost – they have fast food places near their houses and not grocery stores that carry fresh food. They don’t have access to good transportation or they don’t own cars, so they eat what is available to them. It’s much more likely for a low-income neighborhood to have three gas stations that carry chips and candy bars than a single chain grocery store that carries a wide range of fresh foods.

Leave a Reply

