Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Empty the Gas Tank!

on June 20, 2012

I read something last week (and I swear when I remember where it was I will credit my source!) about emptying your gas tank. Giving your workout EVERYTHING ~ rather than holding out and bringing some energy home with you. What are you saving it for? You’re there to work out – GIVE IT YOUR ALL!

So, I come into barre n9ne last night with this mentality. It was my first “lean and tone” class and my first class with Stefanie. Well, it was a kickass amazingly experience. Stef is sweet, funny and very TOUGH! I was sweating, I was shaking and I was NOT giving up. I left completed depleted – in a good way. It was 7pm, what did I need to save energy for?!

This morning I got up at 5am (begrudgingly) and headed to meet Stasia for b9 fusion – one of my favorite classes ever. It’s all ball/band/mat based and usually it’s tough but not deadly. Today, Julianna was deadly. We did jumping jacks, we did planks of doom, we did 42 arms moves until I thought my limbs would fall off! I stopped a lot, but I still felt SUPER sore when I left.

Side note: Anyone else feel like during plank?

OK good, I’m not alone. πŸ™‚

So I “emptied my gas tank” this morning too. I didn’t hold back, I didn’t “go easy” on myself. I stopped when I needed to – and I pushed harder when I could.

It’s going to be hot as Hades here in Boston today and tomorrow. I don’t plan on being outside unless I absolutely have to – so that means I will be getting all my steps in during walks around work / visits to the dreadmill.

How are you guys getting your workouts in when the weather is off the charts? Are you giving 100% every time you go to the gym/class? If not – think about what you’re saving energy for!

8 responses to “Empty the Gas Tank!

  1. jobo says:

    LOVE that picture. Still can’t stop laughing πŸ˜‰ And yes, this morning’s class was sweatastic!! as was last night’s fusion πŸ˜‰ I agree, try and avoid the heat and stay inside and get on that ‘mill! you got this πŸ˜‰

  2. That picture has it exactly right πŸ™‚ I’m headed to Endurance tonight, where there is a/c but I know we will sweat buckets anyway. Tomorrow I will do gardening and yoga in the morning and then happily allow myself to be lazy for the rest of the day!

  3. Jess Sutera says:

    I’m ALL ABOUT leaving nothing left on that mat by the end of class, and leaving nothing left on the ground after a run. I want to never wonder “what if…I pushed harder, held on longer, etc.” I want to know I gave it my all. It is DAMN gratifying, isn’t it??

  4. I generallly don’t think I do well at ANYTHING in barre, but I swear I owned the grey ball in the knee thing today.

  5. Helen says:

    You’ve totally made me think! I usually pull though ‘Oh I couldn’t possibly work out anymore’ trick when I actually could. Tomorrow morning that workout is MINE!

  6. Nicolle says:

    Great philosophy. I used to be on the swim team and our coach always said if we didn’t feel like throwing up at the end of a workout, then we didn’t push ourselves hard enough.

  7. WOW, such great words of encouragement. You are just dead on the money with your comments. Great post! I will be back soon to read more

  8. I love the plank pictures!! I am learning how to do planks this week, normally I just dag around on the exercise bike and cross training machine, without really putting much effort into it. You have now motivated me to go MUCH harder.

Leave a Reply

