Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

CAN’T or WON’T??

on July 10, 2012

On my drive to work this morning I was thinking about all the things I thought I couldn’t do.

I couldn’t commit to eating a certain # of calories (since I had such sporadic success on Weight Watchers). Today I am eating my number every day and I fill full. Yes I do have to think more about my choices but I never feel deprived. If I make good choices I stick to it with ease.

I couldn’t POSSIBLY exercise everyday. Guess what? I can and I do! I feel amazing after a sweaty barre class or a kick-ass circuit combo at the gym.

I thought maybe I was destined to be flabby for life. But I’m seeing definition emerge in shoulders, ankles etc. and I realize I CAN have a toned body in time.

Then I realized there is a BIG difference between can’t/couldn’t and won’t/wouldn’t. We make the choice every morning to have a healthy breakfast or have a stack of pancakes and bacon. We choose to go to the gym or watch TV. We choose to push extra hard in the last set of side leg series or to wuss out and just stretch. 

Last night I was exhausted from my favorite class (toned, fit, firm and ready) but I came home and knew I needed to get my steps in. I also knew I *wanted* (key word) to unwind. So, I set the DVR to an episode of “Extreme Weight Loss” (mini-rant about that show below) and walked around my living room while I watched. A 90 min show resulted in 6211 steps! BAM, hit my 10,000. So I can do it ~ the choice is up to me.

Today this popped into my Facebook feed and I had to share it, so true!

No one is born strong. Strength (of the mental variety especially) is a choice you make each day.

One of my favorite stories has recently popped up on the interwebz again. So good I have to share:

An old Grandfather said to his grandson, who came to him with anger at a friend who had done him an injustice, “Let me tell you a story”.

I too, at times, have felt a great hate for those that have taken so much, with no sorrow for what they do.

But hate wears you down, and does not hurt your enemy. It is like taking poison and wishing your enemy would die. I have struggled with these feelings many times.” He continued, “It is as if there are two wolves inside me. One is good and does no harm. He lives in harmony with all around him, and does not take offense when no offense was intended. He will only fight when it is right to do so, and in the right way.

But the other wolf, ah! He is full of anger. The littlest thing will set him into a fit of temper. He fights everyone, all the time, for no reason. He cannot think because his anger and hate are so great. It is helpless anger,for his anger will change nothing.

Sometimes, it is hard to live with these two wolves inside me, for both of them try to dominate my spirit.”

The boy looked intently into his Grandfather’s eyes and asked, “Which one wins, Grandfather?”

The Grandfather smiled and quietly said, “The one I feed.”

———-

So I today I can and will choose to feed the part of me that wants harmony and happiness. I choose to get as many steps as I can in and go to class tonight and sweat my butt off. I choose to eat fruits and veggies instead of processed junk.

What are you choosing?

5 responses to “CAN’T or WON’T??

  1. Ooooh I forgot the Extreme Weight-loss rant! Next time. 😉

  2. jobo says:

    Awesome and totally agree with this message (obviously)!! (and yes, I was wondering where the rant was?!). Good for you for sticking to it and getting those steps in, AND unwinding at the same time 🙂

  3. Meg says:

    I admire your dedication to being healthy! My “can’t” feelings are more around that I need to be mentally healthy too and that that is just as important as being physically healthy. I feel the need to balance exercise with me time (you know, trashy TV, reading, etc). I have fallen off the horse lately and am trying to climb back on but want to get back to my schedule of workouts every weekend day and then 2-3x a week. My new job has a gym so I just need to set aside the time and start going. Period. I feel better when I do it so I just have to remember that. Yes, my job is nuts but you just have to make time for it. Same for your mental health. It’s important not to get burned out so everything is a delicate balance in my opinion.

  4. Reblogged this on Reclaiming My Sexy and commented:
    This is so true!

  5. jewels129 says:

    Good for you on walking around your living room to get your steps in while catching up on tv. That’s a really good use of your time!

Leave a Reply

