Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Appreciate Where You Are (and who you are!)

on November 21, 2012

I posted my list of things I’m thankful for a few weeks back ~ but I’ve done so much reflecting since then I thought a second post was in order. You guys know I am notorious for NOT living in the moment. Not being thankful for who I am, where I am and who is surrounding me. I’m always either dwelling on the past or worrying about the future. Since I last realized this I’ve been working on it – trying to be present. I even have a post-it reminder on my desk at work!

Cutest post-its ever huh? Love them!

But like most things worth doing, it’s not easy. Yesterday I found myself disappointed I couldn’t wear my size 22 black corduroy’s to work today – they are perfect fall/winter wear! They’ve been sitting in my closet for YEARS since I bought them on a whim when I was a size 28. I was pouting….then today I ran upstairs to see a coworker and realized I wasn’t out of breath – which was always a norm I had just accepted it. Therein lies my progress. Nope, I’m not the “size I decided I needed to be by this point” (with quotations because it’s so silly) but I am better and stronger AND smaller than I was this time last year! I will wear those pants soon – not today, but soon.

So ya know what? I am thankful for this life. I am thankful for this body that is getting stronger by the day. I am thankful that I have the opportunities I have (and I am affording the luxuries that half the world isn’t!). I am thankful for progress ~ even when it seems small or slow. Progress is progress. I’m not perfect ~ but that was never the goal, right? ;0)

Love the sentiment! So true.

So, what are you thankful today?  Are you living in the present? Do you appreciate where (and who!) you are?

Oh and since I am a huge Snoopy fan:

Last but not least, I am in a new challenge I have to mention because I am beyond excited about it! Lindsay from The Lean Greenbean and Elle from Nutrionella are hosting #Elf4Health. Details here. It’s going to be a great way to keep me on target during the holidays!

Join me if you want to stay accountable and meet some new folks that are fitness-minded too!

2 responses to “Appreciate Where You Are (and who you are!)

  1. Jolene says:

    LOVE that you are participating in elf4health and that you are focusing on presence and positivity! So so great!!

  2. Hi there, yup this post is actually pleasant and I
    have learned lot of things from it concerning blogging.

    thanks.

Leave a Reply

