Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Current Annoyances and Truths of Fatness

on September 19, 2013

I have blogged about this twice before in different forms (here and here if you’re curious) – but recently I have been mulling over these and decided in my return to blogging I would share them. You might agree, you might disagree – either way I’d love to hear your thoughts! 🙂

Also, I usually speak from a “fat people” point of view – but I realized that I am not some sort of delegated fat ambassador, I am not in fact speaking on the nation’s behalf – this is just my 2 pennies worth.

Current Fat Annoyances:

Strangers “Praising” Me for Exercising:

I can’t tell you have taken aback I was when twice last week (once after a Pilates class and once after a Zumba class) a stranger tried to high-five me or shake my hand for finishing a workout. And no, it’s wasn’t “Wow that was hard we finished! (those times are totally acceptable, like after Jess’ arms + smabs class – ouch!). No , this was “I’m so proud of you for finishing this whole class!” and “Look at you not having to sit down girlfriend!”. Really? REALLY? I have been taking Pilates for 2 years consistently – I’ve been coming to Zumba on and off for a year. Last I checked I have been a functioning member of society for all 31 years of my life – I don’t expect (nor do I want) praise for being the fat girl at the gym. Please don’t give me a trophy just for showing up and sweating.

People Sharing a Blog Post I HATE on my FB Wall or via Email:

In the last month I’ve been sent this three times, seen it posted to different groups I belong to twice and had it printed and left on my desk (yes, I’m serious).

hey there fat girl – http://flintland.blogspot.com/2012/05/hey-fat-girl.html

I hate this so much I actually see red when I read it. Why?

While the author is telling a stranger how much he “respects” and “admires” her he simultaneously degrades her to the name “fat girl”. No one likes being labeled – certainly not by physical appearance. How would you feel if I said I “respected” and “admired” you, horse face? Yeaaaa, you’d hate me too! Not to mention the writer makes a LOT of assumptions about a strangers history and level of fitness (You no longer accept this physical state of numbness and passivity. You have taken a difficult decision, but one that holds so much promise. Every hard breath you take is actually a tad easier than the one before, and every step is ever so slightly lighter.). If you knew me 5 years ago you could be impressed by how far I’ve come. If you met me today you could think “Wow, what a fat ass! She needs to work out more” – without realizing where I’ve been – or where I’m going. I was not “moved to tears” by this post, nor was I “in silent awe of a supportive community”. No, I was (and still am) irate, annoyed and downright saddened that this day in age I am still considered “the fat girl” by strangers. I hate back-handed compliments. Also, I read through a lot of the comments on the original post and noticed someone said the writer was addressing the girl “as she sees herself”. I assure you – I have never nor will I ever call myself “fat girl”. I don’t just see my size when I look in a mirror – I see my sparkly persona, I see my soulful eyes – I see *Samantha* and that’s more than just a size or a label.

Sidenote: Motivational memes and quotes are totally awesome and I love those. It’s just this blog that makes my skin crawl.

At my size I MUST have high blood pressure and diabetes

A few months ago I was taking Motrin at my desk and one of my co-workers saw me and said “High blood pressure? Pre-diabetes? Full blown diabetes?” in rapid fire procession. Um no, headache….likely caused by work annoyances. LOL. The only medication I’m on is birth control. I have low blood pressure and my blood sugar is always normal. I am not the reason health-care costs are so high and I resent the implication that fat = diseased. Not everyone who’s overweight is diabetic and not every diabetic is overweight. Stop assuming.

You have the right to judge my food

At work I have been in the good habit of making my lunch for the last 4-5 months. Normally that is a salad (arugula or spinach, roasted and fresh veggies, some kind of protein and maybe a carb like couscous on the side…sometimes with goat cheese on top sometimes without). I rarely use salad dressing (I’d rather spend my calories somewhere else). I don’t load it with bacon bits, croutons or other bullshit “salad toppers”. Alternatively I will sometimes have leftovers (protein + veggies + carbs/starch). I never eat frozen meals (too much sodium/crappy flavor) and if I do get takeout (which is rare) it’s from Panera – where I customize my meal. Why does all this matter? Every.single.time I microwave my lunch someone in the lunchroom or on my walk back to my desk makes a comment like “Wow that looks healthy!” or “Look at you eating  your vegetables!” in a voice that illustrates how shocked they are at what I’m eating. My favorite is one person I am lucky to not see very often. Twice last week after seeing my salads she has commented: “I don’t know how you ever got fat eating like that Sam!”. I’m going to tell you something that will blow your mind: Fat people, like skinny people may like eating fruits and vegetables. Sometimes we even put them in our meals. WOAH NELLY! Yes, it’s true. I shop at Whole Foods. I read labels. I buy organic and local when possible.  I don’t buy broccoli in a bag with cheese sauce or peaches in a can drenched in syrup.  I may be fat – but I’m not an idiot. Was I once an idiot about food? Absolutely. Do you get to comment on my healthy foods simply because of my size? No.

Truths:

I have probably heard of and tried any diet  or fad you can recommend

Diets don’t work. I’ve figured this out and finally, FINALLY come to terms with what does: healthy living. I’m not interested in eating just grapefruit, I don’t want to hear about your Mom’s cousins friend who lost 100 pounds with cabbage or with diet pills. It’s all nonsense. I want to focus on eating real food made without chemicals I can’t pronounce. If you want to show me a success story, please make sure it doesn’t advocate gimmicks.

I got where we I was by not making myself a priority

I got to my heaviest by making poor choices, by putting myself second and by taking the easy way out. I opted for easy/fast food over healthy ones. I considered “potato” my favorite and only sources of vegetables. I never drank water. I loved processed, crappy snacks. I didn’t think I mattered enough to take care of myself and in hindsight that makes me very sad. I’m glad I’ve moved on from that place.

l wish there was a magic pill

Some wish for a pill that made them like veggies, some wish for a pill that emulated exercise without effort – me? I wish for a pill that allowed me to lose a pound for every healthy choice I make. LOL. Imagine!? I’d be at my goal weight by now! 🙂

5 responses to “Current Annoyances and Truths of Fatness

  1. Curt says:

    Somehow I think “Look at you eating your vegetables!” was probably me… What I meant was “Look at you eating your vegetables while I’m eating something terrible, I should be more like you!”

  2. Seriously. People are printing out blog posts and putting it on your desk. That’s plain weird.

  3. Catherine says:

    The irony is that all these skinny people commenting on your healthy lunches are probably suffering from malnutrition! In my experience these people usually eat totally unhealthily.

Leave a Reply

