Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Autumn Book Club/Words for the Soul

on October 8, 2013

It’s autumn here in New England – my FAVORITE season! It makes me want to curl up on the couch with an apple cider or a hot chocolate and read books under a blanket all day. Before I share my latest fabulous reads I just had to share some New England BEAUTY spotted on Friday. Yes, they were taken in a grave yard (where my Nana, Papa and uncle are buried) – sound morbid but graveyards are so peaceful and appear to be a mecca for amazing foliage!

2013-10-04 17.47.38

Leaves

Now onto the books! I’m a huge fan of books that focus on feeding your soul and weight-loss – enter this month’s reads that cover both topics. First up is “Weight Loss for People Who Feel Too Much” by Colette Baron-Reid. I can’t tell you how many times in my life someone tells me I’m TOO emotional or TOO empathetic – when my friend Corynne snapped a picture of her bookshelf and I spotted this I had to check it out. So far it’s really interesting – I might even follow the 8 week plan for removing the emotional attachment to food. It’s silly really, I KNOW I shouldn’t eat my feelings…..and yet I find myself doing it subconsciously. Just now I’m watching Criminal Minds. Anytime an innocent victim is hurt I think “I wish I had cookies”. I can’t say this explains my whole life (I definitely still made poor choices and too many of them) – but it definitely sheds light on to why I am so affected by the emotions of people around me.

I find myself nodding a lot during the book – it’s nice to be able to relate to someone else who can’t process their feelings and turns to food instead. I always promise you guys honesty an no BS – if you ever read along with my blog and think “Oh wow she does that? Me too!” – pick up this book and drop me a line, let’s chat! 🙂

book-weight-loss-for-people-who-feel-too-much

Next up is Jeff Goins “The In-Between” is all about taking those annoying moments (like being in traffic or being delayed in getting what you want and using them to fuel you to live a happier life. Friends were tweeting and Facebooking about “The Slow Down Challenge” and I knew I had to check it out. I often sit in bed at night and think of how rushed I was during the day. Gotta go to a meeting, gotta finish this project, gotta reschedule that lunch date with Kate, gotta start my Christmas shopping. I’ve made a little change and that’s calling my Mom during the day just to say hi. We’re really close (as previously mentioned) and I just love her to pieces. Calling to say hi only takes 5 mins and over time makes a big difference in keeping me grounded. 🙂

in between

My favorite meme from the book:

Where are you right now? Are you appreciating the moment (even if it’s an “in between’ moment?). So much of life is defined by what we do in between the marriages and babies and new jobs and milestone birthdays. Make sure you’re not just rushing to check the next task off your list. Make sure you’re actually ENJOYING life.

Disconnect from your smart phone.

Turn off the TV.

Have coffee with someone you love and give them your FULL attention.

Stop getting upset about things you cannot control (like traffic) <— sometimes easier said than done! 😉

As Gretchen Rubin taught me in “The Happiness Project” – the days are long but the years are short. How many of you can’t even remember your first few weeks of your relationship with your spouse or the first few weeks of nervous excitement after you graduated college or your babies first steps? Life really does fly by and it’s up to us to grab on to small moments in between the big ones and cherish them!

What are you currently reading? Is it inspiring you to make changes in your life? I’d love to hear about it!

One response to “Autumn Book Club/Words for the Soul

  1. That first book sounds really interesting. I can definitely relate.

Leave a Reply

