Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

A Lesson in Overcoming Betrayal….

on October 22, 2013

My freshman year of high school I joined the school newspaper. I loved writing and I thought it would be a great outlet to hone my skills and train me for my future career as a contributing editor of Rolling Stone (funny how things turns out eh?). I was fortunate enough to work under an amazing student adviser and an equally amazing editor who pushed me to dig deeper in my stories (thank you Katie Ehresman + Dave Morrissey!) and they taught me not to just write fluff pieces (as fun as those are) – find the emotion in the story, marry it with facts and give the writers a perspective they may not have considered. I wrote some pieces during high school that I’m still proud of to this day. I would come home from school fired up about something (silly administration policies, nonsense events getting more publicity than plays, musicals or just normal teenage angst etc.) announce to my mom I was “Going to write an article!” and march right to the family room to furiously type  my next masterpiece. I was unphased by challenging authority. I didn’t care if I wasn’t popular (and I wasn’t) I had friends but I didn’t need to fit in – I wasn’t someone who jumped on bandwagons (I usually boycotted them!).  I spoke my mind and often times I was able to connect with someone I wouldn’t have imagined I’d reach just based on my words. I had gusto – and I wasn’t afraid to use it.

I’ve been sitting here for hours trying to channel that girl.

I’ve been wronged, I’ve been deceived and dammit I want to share it! I want to tell the whole world all the awful things someone I trusted has done and said about me. I want to tell you how betrayed I feel for entrusting my weight-loss and my health to them only to be ridiculed behind my back.

Be-careful-who-you-trust

Alas, sometimes being an adult means taking a terrible experience, using it to measure future interactions against and putting the person who has wronged you and the circumstances surrounding it behind you. So rather than share my pain and humiliation with you I will instead give you the top 5 new life lessons I’ve acquired over the last few weeks along with some perfectly paired quotes:

1.Confucius once said: “Three things cannot be long hidden: the sun, the moon and the truth”. When multiple sources report the same story chances are it’s true even if you don’t want to believe it at the time…..

betrayl

2. If something feels wrong – it probably is. I am terrible at trusting my intuition and often times I change my mind on someone I initially did not like. Trust your gut, it knows more than you think!

trust

3. Tomorrow you’ll have to live with the words you said today – make sure you’d be proud of that

choose

4.  Karma – it’s everywhere you want to be….

karma 1

5. “Holding on to anger is like drinking poison and expecting the other person to die. Let it go”.

hot coal

There you have it – new mantras to live by.

Be careful who you trust – be careful who you share your dreams with…not everyone touting health and fitness has your best interest at heart or wants you to succeed.

A few friends have told me I need to stop being so “glass half full/benefit of the doubt/rose-colored glasses” …eh, I can see where being this way gets me hurt more often – but it also means I’m usually happier and I’ll take happy any day. Onward and upward!

rearview mirror

5 responses to “A Lesson in Overcoming Betrayal….

  1. D says:

    Well said…Betrayal is an ugly thing…..

  2. Jolene says:

    Betrayal is one of the worst things to go through. I know it well, of late, as you know, and I completely agree with these truths…especially about holding on to anger and resentment. it’s just not worth it. The best approach, imho, is to rise above and move onward. Hang in there.

  3. Kendylle says:

    You are an amazing writer and an amazing person!!!! Truth be told, we all know no one is going too stop your dreams or ruin uour goals… Fake people are always always always discovered and while the rat of us move on, they are left in the ruins they created!!!!! ( and deserve )
    Believe it or not some people may appear too have it all, but they are insecure and lack character and ” things ” are all that matter!!!!

    You ROCK!!!!!

  4. phdpes says:

    I am reminded of three sayings I enjoy. The first is from Eleanor Roosevelt, who said, “Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.” For this reason, I like to avoid talking about people. The second is, “Listen carefully to how a person speaks about other people to you.

This is how they will speak about you to other people.” I don’t know who said it (posted on an old high school acquaintance’s facebook page), but for this reason, I am very cautious of people who gossip to me. The third is from my father, one of my favorite people of all time, and it helps me when, despite my best efforts to avoid such people, they gossip about me: “What other people think of you is none of your business.” It is difficult to wear this one, but I find that if you can try it on for a while, it helps you to see that people’s thoughts/words about you (negative or positive for that matter) are separate from your own character and actions.

  5. Anoymous says:

    I’m so sorry this happened to you. Good for you for taking the high road. So many people have heard your story, and chosen to take their business elsewhere. Some people are just cruel to the core.

Leave a Reply

