Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Whole 30….Round 2!

on March 10, 2014

You know how they say March comes in like a lion and goes out like a lamb? Well I’m totally over lions. I hate winter. It’s been so freaking cold and miserable here in the suburbs of Boston – I’m ready for some sunshine and flowers! I’m going to gear myself up for a spring mentality (and a more fabulous summer body) by kicking off a new Whole 30 challenge this coming Monday. I eased myself in this week – cutting ties with bagels and homemade cookies (two things that were making more frequent appearances than they really should). I also embraced some new things like cilantro (formerly a hate – and I mean hate!) and raw red onion.I’m ready to rock the next 30 days!

Just in case you’re not familiar Whole 30 is an elimination/detox diet created by a husband and wife team who believe in organic, whole foods and no junk. The plan is simple to explain but terribly hard to execute:

Eat real food in these forms:

  • Meat
  • Seafood
  • Eggs
  • Tons of vegetables
  • Some fruit
  • Healthy oils, nuts and seeds.

Sounds simple right?! Yeaaa not so fast….

Don’t eat:

  • Sugar (any kind)
  • Alcohol
  • Grains
  • Legumes (which includes America’s favorite nut, the peanut)
  • Dairy
  • Carrageenan, MSG or sulfites (found in many processed foods)
  • White potatoes (along with Yukon, red bliss etc.) – the only potato that’s Whole 30 approved is the sweet potato

So, it’s a big change…but I’m excited to take it on. I did great last time although the headaches were pretty awful (not excited for those). My hardest challenge will be breakfast. I like eggs – but they don’t always like me back….so I need to get creative. This recipe for Banana Nut Porridge  sounds awesome and would be delicious with dates!  I have my nuts soaking as we speak and I’m hoping this is a tasty breakfast. I love oatmeal and I think it will be similar.

Sunday is veggie prep day and today I got help from Derek and Mom (thanks guys!) – here’s what we have ready in the fridge for the week ahead:

  • Roasted cauliflower, broccoli, brussel sprouts, cabbage and broccoliflower along with asparagus, green beans and broccolini washed and ready to be roasted for dinners.
  • Spinach, arugula and spring mix for salad base
  • Raspberries (to add to porridge)
  • Vinegar pickled beets
  • 3 kinds of tomatoes (variety is the spice of life right?)
  • Sweet potato mash
  • Almonds, cashews, pecans (no peanuts!)
  • Power Salad fixin’s (I stole this from Panera after having one for lunch Friday!)

Here’s the salad I had Friday:

PowerSaladMy take: Spinach/arugula/cilantro base, fresh tomatoes, peppers (yellow and orange) and pickled red onions (homemade!) with roasted chicken and cilantro/lemon hummus. Super delicious and super excited to eat it! I’ll snap a picture later in the week! Derek loves cukes, I hate them so we’ll include them in his salad only. 🙂

Oh and here’s a shot of the garlic pickled red onions and roasted cabbage/brussel sprouts:

Roasted Veggies and Pickled Onions

They joke that Whole 30 is a commitment – but it really is! I’m not usually a big food planner (I find it constricting and stressful) so this will be a big change to have to think this far ahead. I think I’m most worried about giving up ice cream – I LOVE ice cream and a month is a long time! Oh and if you’re curious I will be having my beloved Starbucks coffee with coconut/almond milk instead of cream/1 sugar. 🙂 See? I’ve thought of everything! Now, let’s see if I see a difference in 30 days!

Some of the annoyances (besides of course the weight) are super, insane dry skin/eczema, random hives (possibly due to coconut so I’m not going nuts with coconut during the challenge) and psoriasis on my head. A lot of these ailments have been fixed with a clean diet – I can’t wait to see how I fare on April 12th!

Are you doing a Whole 30? Have you? Any tips or tricks?

 

8 responses to “Whole 30….Round 2!

  1. That salad looks super yummy! They have one just like it at Panera and I love it. Did you make the hummus yourself? Because the hummus totally makes it.

  2. This sounds great. I, like you, also feel constricted about too much planning when it comes to food but it’s only for a month and the month will pass anyway so just enjoy the ride. Good luck!

  3. I finished my first whole30 this past January. I’m getting ready to start another round this week. I had amazing results! I was really in it just for weight loss at first, but I saw so many results that I didn’t expect to see. First off, I would have told you that I was not “addicted” to sugar. Boy was I wrong lol By day 5 I was crying at my kitchen table because all I wanted was a damn cookie lol :/ kind of sad, I know. But after I broke that craving things got wonderful. http://littlelessmommy.blogspot.com/2014/02/whole30-well-almost.html This is my own personal review of the experience on my blog.

    Also, If you haven’t read the book “it starts with food” please do read it. A lot of what I read resonated with me and helped me focus during the hard times. Just don’t give up. 30 Days is not a lot to pay for such a wonderful transformation! Good luck!

  4. Mike says:

    Good luck on the 30 day challenge. I’m glad I spent this winter season on the West Coast- it seems a bit tougher to stick to a diet when it’s freezing and snowing all the time. I’ll be interested to see how/ if your taste for cilantro, red onions and the other vegetables change by the end of the challenge.

  5. I did this throughout the holidays, thinking that if I could do Whole30 during that time I could stick to anything during any time. And it worked! I obviously didn’t stick with Whole30 after the 30 days but it did give me a jump start on the weight loss and I now eat around the basic principles.

    You look like you are being a lot fancier in food choices than I ever was! That’s amazing!

Leave a Reply

